Which countries still do not allow people with HIV-positive status?


In most countries, there are no restrictions on entry and stay for people living with HIV. Yes, you can travel safely and live without restrictions, study and work in many countries in North and South America, Europe and Africa. But restrictions remain in 48 states. And in 19 of them, including Russia, they are particularly severe - deportation when the disease is detected.

Russia is one of the few countries where a foreign citizen is required to take an HIV test to obtain a residence permit, citizenship, work, student visa, and a visa valid for more than three months. And if it is positive - the person will not be allowed to Russia. If HIV is detected after entering the country, the migrant is deported.

In addition to Russia, similar policies for HIV-positive foreigners are in place in 18 other countries, including China, the Dominican Republic, the UAE, Qatar, Syria, Singapore, Iraq, Egypt, Malaysia and Turkmenistan. In these countries, the HIV test must be taken if you want to get a job or start studying, as well as to obtain a residence permit. If the result is positive, you will not be able to enter the country.

There is a list of countries where people with HIV can work, study and obtain a residence permit. But they are obliged to inform about their status. These are, for example, Australia, Angola, Azerbaijan, Belize, the Cayman Islands, Cuba, Israel, Kazakhstan, Lebanon, New Zealand, Palau, Papua New Guinea, Paraguay, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Tonga, the Turks and Caicos Islands and Tuvalu.

The same rule applies in the following countries: Aruba, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Indonesia, Kyrgyzstan, Maldives, Marshall Islands, Mauritius, Tunisia and Ukraine. However, a residence permit in these countries with a positive HIV test is not issued. But you can travel freely to the above-mentioned countries with a positive status.

You can travel to the rest of the world without any restrictions, find a job and stay there to live. In some European countries, foreigners can receive free HIV treatment. These are, for example, Sweden and Spain.